Busy Month

Still preparing for the conference the last week of February.  But many other interesting things have happened in recent weeks.  In reverse chronological order:

Went to see a taping of The Rick Mercer Report last night.  Jack and I had to switch places because the camera was coming in over our heads and they were afraid it was going to hit his.  If you watch Valentine’s Day evening, you might be able to find us when they swoop in over the audience.  Pictures to follow.  They are still on my camera and I can’t find an appropriate cable or a card reader in the lab.

Yesterday morning, Mats Sundin (I had no idea who he was)  was in the building announcing a fellowship in his name.  He is donating $330k towards a post-doc exchange between the University of Toronto and Stockholm’s Karolinska Institutet to study maternal and early childhood health issues.  One labmate got his autograph on the back of a biophysics paper, and a second can be seen in the background of this interview, starting around 1:10.  I’m not usually a celebrity chaser, but here are some pictures:

The previous weekend, my eldest son and I went to see Jeff Foxworthy, Bill Engvall, and Larry the Cable Guy.  I haven’t laughed so hard in a long time.  It was worth the drive to Hamilton, for sure.  Here’s a radio station interview with the 3 of them about this tour.

As for the rest of February, today is Dad’s birthday, there’s Valentine’s Day, my niece’s birthday, Family Day, and then the conference starting on the 23rd.  For the conference, I’ve done about 25 data runs at an average of 3 per day.  I have 4 to do today, 3 on Monday, and a couple to redo.  Then I have a calibration to do that will take 3 or 4 days.  And a poster to make.  It’s good to be busy, when the busy actually gets stuff accomplished.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Busy Month

  1. And I forgot about Monster Jam at the Rogers Centre at the end of January. Great time had by all.

Leave a Reply

