Watch your bank account, and with whom you bank.

A couple of days ago, I need to buy more bus tokens.  So I made the effort to get to a Scotiabank machine to save myself some bank fees.  A day later, there three ABM withdrawls for amounts that you would never be able to withdraw from a bank machine along with $15 in service charges were debited to my account.  The total was almost $1000.  When I phoned, the gentleman on the phone said that the account had been noted for possible fraud and that I had to go to my own branch to fill out a request to get my money back.

So today I went to my branch and filled out the form.  They told me it would take a month to get it back.  Which really sucks.  Last year we paid in advance for gymnastics classes and the school went under before any of them were used.  I had paid with my BMO MasterCard and they refunded the money first and investigated second.  I guess maybe it is time to move my banking, especially with Scotia raising their fees yet again.  It’s not like I don’t have my choice of nearby banks.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Watch your bank account, and with whom you bank.

  1. Scotia put the money back. Guess their estimate of how long it would take was a bit over.

Leave a Reply

